Mark 8 – Do you still not understand…

Good evening y’all. Today we are studying Mark chapter 8.

image

I am focusing today’s blog on verse 1 – 21.

Be blessed 🙂

Mark begins this chapter with another ‘feeding-of-the-multitude’ miracle.  I was amazed that the disciples still didn’t understand that they need not fret about feeding the multitude. Just a few days back (at least I’m assuming it was only a few days),  they saw Jesus take 5 loaves and 2 fishes and multiplied it enough to feed 5000 and they had 12 baskets left over! Now in a similar situationl, they still don’t understand that God can provide. Their reaction was similar to that in chapter 6.

With all I’ve said, I’d like us to resist passing judgement on the disciples, and instead try to empathise with them. I know I’m guilty of the same offence they committed. So many times I find myself forgetting that God is able to deliver, provide and save. Even though I’ve seen Him do it for me before, when a seemingly new challenge comes I forget and panic before remembering that God has done this before!

After this the disciples went away on a boat with Jesus and He charged them to beware of the leaven of the Pharisees. They thought it was because they only had one loaf of bread with them. Again these guys still didn’t understand who Jesus was. They knew of his works on the surface level but they didn’t fully know who He was or understand the power and authority He carried; or have enough faith in Him. They tried to understand Him with the physical mind. Jesus, perceiving their thoughts, gave them a good telling off.

‘Do you still not understand?’: That was Jesus’ response.  ‘If I could multiply 7 loaves, 5 loaves and 2 fishes then what gives you the impression I can’t multiply 1?’

I kinda feel that’s how God feels when we begin to doubt Him; forget about how great He is; or choose to focus on our problems instead of Him, even though we have seen Him do them before.

Beloved, God is able…let this be a reminder for someone today. Perhaps you have been fretting about an issue.  Jesus is saying to you today that, ‘If I have fixed it before, then know that I can still do it. I still move mountains for people; I still deliver people; I still provide for people; I still heal the sick; and I still set people free.

Be encouraged today. In the book of Hebrews, it is written: ‘He is the same yesterday and today and forever. The same book of Hebrews says, ‘… there are 2 immutable things: that God can never change or lie’.

Today be reminded that if He has done it before, He can do it again.  Jesus is closer to you than you think. He is waiting for you to run into His loving arms. He wants to help you. He is gently tugging at your heart saying, ‘give it to me…let Me carry this for you. It’s not meant for you. I already paid the price so why are you trying to pay for what is already paid for? Let me carry your burden and give you rest’.

Jesus loves you more than you can imagine. And if you haven’t experienced his love perhaps this is the time for you to take that step of faith and invite Him into your heart by saying these words:

Lord Jesus I thank you for my life. I thank you for coming to die for me. I ask you to come into my life today; to come and be the Lord and Saviour of my life. Please forgive me of all the wrongs I have committed. Today I choose to follow and trust You. Thank You for welcoming me into Your family. In Your holy name I have prayed. Amen”.

I pray that the HolySpirit will help us remember the greatness of God at all times. I also pray that we will choose to see Him instead of the magnitude of our problems; and He will help us to always remember that if He has done it before then He can do it again.

Thanks for joining today. Pls feel free to share your thoughts on the chapter.

Have a blessed evening 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

