Acts 26 – Fighting against God?

Good evening y’all. Today we are studying Acts 26.

Be blessed 🙂

image

The latter part of verse 14 caught my attention.

“We all fell down, and I heard a voice saying to me in Aramaic,  ‘Saul, Saul, why are you persecuting me? It is useless for you to fight against my will”.
(Acts 26:14 NLT)

It’s absolutely impossible to fight against God. He is the omnipotent, Omnipresent,  omniscient God. The one who knows everything and sees everything; there is absolutely nowhere you can hide or run from God. The Psalmist said it very well in Psalm139.

“Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you”. (Psalm 139:7-12 NIV)

Some of us are struggling and fighting with God on a daily basis. We are running from what He has called us to do. Prophet Jonah in the bible comes to mind. God told him to go to Ninevah to preach His word to the people but He chose to run from God. God found him and hid him in the mouth of a whale for 3 days. Eventually Jonah got the message and humbled himself before God and did what God asked him to do. (See Jonah 1 :1- end and Jonah 3: 1-10)

Are you running from God or fighting against His will for your life? Why don’t you give up the fight today and surrender to His will. Truth is God’s will for us is always better than our own will for our lives. He knows us in and out. His thoughts for us is always good.  That’s the promise He gave us in Jer 29:11

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord . “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope”.
(Jeremiah 29:11 NLT)

Let this encourage you today to surrender and let God have Hs way.

I will end with Matthew11:28 in the message  version.

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”
(Matthew 11:28-30 MSG)

Have a blessed night 🙂

Jumbug…Xxx

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

