Song of Solomon 3 and 4 – Captured His heart….

Good morning y’all. Today I’m doing a combined study on Song of Solomon chapter 3 and 4.

Be blessed 🙂

image

Chapter 3

“One night as I lay in bed, I yearned for my lover. I yearned for him, but he did not come. So I said to myself, “I will get up and roam the city, searching in all its streets and squares. I will search for the one I love.” So I searched everywhere but did not find him. The watchmen stopped me as they made their rounds, and I asked, “Have you seen the one I love?” Then scarcely had I left them when I found my love! I caught and held him tightly, then I brought him to my mother’s house, into my mother’s bed, where I had been conceived. Promise me, O women of Jerusalem, by the gazelles and wild deer, not to awaken love until the time is right”.
(Song of Songs 3:1-5 NLT)

In these verses, we see the bride looking all over the place for her lover. She yearned for his presence. She missed what they used to have. We can relate this to our relationship with God as well. Each of us has a void that only God can fill. Sometimes we try other things to fill that void.  Things such as drugs, sex, money, career and so on, but at the end we find nothing satisfies. Only God can satisfy us fully.

Genuine love will cause a lover to seek their beloved and genuine love from the beloved will only allow the lover to suffer for as little time as possible before they are reunited.

Soon after speaking to the watchmen she found her lover.  This indicates that her lover was about. He wasn’t afar off. That’s how it is with us and God. He is never far away from us. Sometimes when we disobey or walk away from the path God has laid for us and we no longer feel the connection with Him (the lover’s connection) our love will compel us to seek His companionship again. We start to look for a way back, such as reading the bible, praying and asking from others. If done wholeheartedly, this helps us find our way back to our lover.

Notice her seeking led to finding. Matt 7:7 tells us to “Ask and we will receive, seek and we will find, knock and the door will be opened to us”. Her genuine love was what compelled her to go seeking for her lover.

When she finally found her lover, she took him home. She wasn’t ready to loose him again. It’s same with us.  When we truly find God, we would never want to let go of Him.

Chapter 4

Verse 9 caught my attention immediately

Thou hast ravished my heart, my sister, my spouse; thou hast ravished my heart with one of thine eyes, with one chain of thy neck”. (Song of Solomon 4:9 KJV)

“You have captured my heart, my treasure, my bride. You hold it hostage with one glance of your eyes, with a single jewel of your necklace”. (Song of Songs 4:9 NLT)

I want to capture God’s heart. I want him to  be captivated by my love towards Him everytime He glances at me. I know I can never love Him as much as He loves me, but nevertheless by His grace I will continue to strive to love Him more and capture His heart through my submission and obedience to Him.

An excerpt from Mike Bickle on this verse –

“This verse summarizes the Song of Solomon. Many believers do not know that God is filled with desire for them. A working definition of the ravished heart of God is to be filled with emotions of joy or delight because of one who is unusually attractive (Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary).
The revelation of Jesus’ ravished heart equips us for one hundredfold obedience. The Bride’s decision for radical obedience (Song 4:6) is walked out in Song 5:2-8.
Our salvation involves much more than receiving a legal position of righteousness before God (2 Cor. 5:21). We must understand God’s affections for us. Why? Because we will never have more passion for God than what we understand about His passion for us. We love Him because we understand He first loved us (1 Jn. 4:19). God’s heart is filled with delight for His people.
10 I am my beloved’s, and his desire is toward me. (Song 7:10)
My sister: Being called Jesus’ sister refers to Him becoming human (Heb. 2:11-17). He endured indescribable humiliation and suffering to be like His brethren in all things (Heb. 2:17). He descended so far and we ascend so high to meet Him as His sister (Mt. 12:49-50).
My spouse: Being called Jesus’ Bride speaks of His desire for affectionate partnership with us.
Her twofold identity as His sister and bride is emphasized seven times (4:8, 9, 10, 11, 12; 5:1, 2).
With one look of your eyes: Jesus’ heart moves with each look of devotion that we give Him. The very movement of our heart to love Him touches Him. Our obedience begins when we set our heart to obey Him, not just after we gain victory in a specific area. Thus, we can confidently receive His affectionate mercy and feel His pleasure in each step of the growth process. The glance that moves God’s heart is the gaze of loving obedience. The obedient gaze is rooted in quality decisions. The bridal paradigm is rooted in the message of the true grace of God.
With one link of your necklace: In Scripture, the neck often speaks of the will that can be resistant (stiff necked) or submissive. The king described her neck as being like David’s towers, which were effective in defeating the enemy (Song 4:4), and as a golden necklace that made her beautiful (Song 1:10). Each link of her necklace represented each individual response of obedience that she gave to him. Each decision for love that we make moves Jesus’ heart. He remembers every movement of love that our heart makes towards Him.

“10 God is not unjust to forget your…love which you have shown toward His name…” (Heb. 6:10)”

I pray we will always be God’s delight and daily capture His heart.

Thanks for joining today. Pls feel free to share your thoughts on the chapter.

Have a blessed day 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

