Songs of Solomon 1 – He is mine & I am His

Good evening y’all. Happy Monday 🙂

Today we’ll begin our study of the book of Songs of Solomon. Excited much about this book 🙂

Be blessed 🙂

image

In today’s chapter, verse 4 – 6 stood out for me. I approached the verses from the angle of being the Shulammite woman and God being the King. I am His bride and He my bridegroom.

“Draw me away! We will run after you.The king has brought me into his chambers. We will be glad and rejoice in you. We will remember your love more than wine.Rightly do they love you” (V4 NKJV).

In this verse, you see the Shulammite woman is eager to be with her lover. She is ready to steal away with him. She even compares his love to wine, though his love tastes better than wine 🙂 .
In the same way God is inviting us to come closer; to get to know Him. He is inviting us to His palace to reign with Him. His love for us is so amazing and unconditional. It’s pure and sweet 🙂

Jeremiah 31: 3 says :
“For long ago the Lord had said to Israel: I have loved you, O my people, with an everlasting love; with loving-kindness I have drawn you to me”  (TLB).

The Message version even better 😉 . It says:
God told them, “I’ve never quit loving you and never will. Expect love, love, and more love!” ( God is saying that to you and me today 🙂 )

“I am dark, but lovely, O daughters of Jerusalem, Like the tents of Kedar, Like the curtains of Solomon. Do not look upon me, because I am dark, Because the sun has tanned me. My mother’s sons were angry with me; They made me the keeper of the vineyards, But my own vineyard I have not kept” (V 5- 6 NKJV).

Here you see the woman is self conscious. She’s not sure if she’s beautiful enough for the king. Oh, how I can relate with the Shulammite woman. I know what it is like to feel like I’m not good enough. For a very long time, I believed those lies from the enemy telling me I’m not beautiful enough; “no one cares for you; you are too fat” ; “your nose is too big”; “your voice is too husky”. Not only did those lies affect my relationship with family and friends, it also affected my relationship with God. I struggled to understand how God could love me. I honestly believe I wasn’t worthy of love. I was a christian, went to church regularly, even sang in the choir, but I just didn’t believe in my heart that God truly loved me. I got my liberation the day God by His grace allowed me a glimpse of Psalm 139. It was what you would call a light bulb moment. It just hit home. God loves me inspite of what I look like or the things I have done or will do. Truth is, He has predetermined to love me. Nothing that I am now or ever will be, is a surprise to Him.

Psalms 139: 1- 18 sums it up well….

1 O Lord, you have examined my heart and know everything about me. 2 You know when I sit or stand. When far away you know my every thought. 3 You chart the path ahead of me and tell me where to stop and rest. Every moment you know where I am. 4 You know what I am going to say before I even say it. 5 You both precede and follow me and place your hand of blessing on my head.
6 This is too glorious, too wonderful to believe! 7 I can never be lost to your Spirit! I can never get away from my God! 8 If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the place of the dead, you are there. 9 If I ride the morning winds to the farthest oceans, 10 even there your hand will guide me, your strength will support me. 11 If I try to hide in the darkness, the night becomes light around me. 12 For even darkness cannot hide from God; to you the night shines as bright as day. Darkness and light are both alike to you.
13 You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit them together in my mother’s womb. 14 Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! It is amazing to think about. Your workmanship is marvelous—and how well I know it. 15 You were there while I was being formed in utter seclusion! 16 You saw me before I was born and scheduled each day of my life before I began to breathe. Every day was recorded in your book!
17-18 How precious it is, Lord, to realize that you are thinking about me constantly! I can’t even count how many times a day your thoughts turn toward me.[a] And when I waken in the morning, you are still thinking of me!” (TLB).

I pray the reality of God’s love will wash over us and quiet every doubt or fear in our hearts. In Jesus Name. Amen

Thanks for joining today. Pls feel free to share your thoughts on the chapter.

Have a blessed evening 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

