Proverbs 30 – Just enough is all you need…

Good afternoon y’all. Happy Friday.

Thanks be to God for seeing us thus far in our study of Proverbs. We are in chapter 30 today.

From Monday 27th July, we will be doing a week in depth study of Proverbs 31. Courtney from good morning girls has done a brief info on this for us. Check out her blog post here

image

For those who are joining for the first time, I’m blogging through the bible a chapter a day with Good morning girls. You can check us out at www.goodmorninggirls.org

Back to today’s reading 🙂

Be blessed 🙂

image

“O God, I beg two favors from you; let me have them before I die. First, help me never to tell a lie. Second, give me neither poverty nor riches! Give me just enough to satisfy my needs. For if I grow rich, I may deny you and say, “Who is the lord ?” And if I am too poor, I may steal and thus insult God’s holy name” (NLT).

“And then he prayed, “God, I’m asking for two things before I die; don’t refuse me— Banish lies from my lips and liars from my presence. Give me enough food to live on, neither too much nor too little. If I’m too full, I might get independent, saying, ‘God? Who needs him?’ If I’m poor, I might steal and dishonor the name of my God.” (MSG)

Oh my! These verses are so relevant for where I am right now. I have been making similar request to God this past week.  By God’s grace, I realised that a hint of pride was starting to set into my heart (especially since I’ve been experiencing a lot of breakthroughs and increase in my life recently. That temptation to take the glory to one’s self instead of giving it back to God has been rearing its ugly head) so I’ve been asking God to help me remain humble in the midst of the blessings and overflow He is bringing my way; that my heart will not be led astray by the increase.

The writer of today’s chapter was also praying and begging God in a similar manner. He asked God to help him deal honestly and not tell lies; that God will bless him with just enough to satisfy his needs, so that he won’t become too proud or have to steal and bring shame to God’s name. I am humbled by his prayer. This man realised he needed God’s help to achieve this level of maturity and wisdom. He understood the danger of pride and greed in ones live.

God wants to bless us, but He is delaying it for some because He knows we can’t handle the blessing yet: it is most likely that (for some of us) our hearts will be lead astray or we might decide we don’t need Him anymore!

Let’s learn to be humble and be content with what we have and learn to make the most of it.

Scripture says, “…godliness with contentment is great gain…”.

My prayer today is that God will bless us with just enough that we need to carry out His plans and purposes for our lives; and that our hearts will not be lifted up and we will not bring shame to His name, In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

Thanks for joining today. Please feel free today leave your thoughts on the chapter.

Have a blessed weekend 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

