Proverbs 14 and 15

Good evening y’all. Sorry I didn’t get a chance to post a blog on chapter 14 yday. Today I’m going to do a combined blog on chapter 14 and 15.

Be blessed 🙂

image

“Short-tempered people do foolish things, and schemers are hated”. (Pro14:17 NLT)

Covering my eyes… So true. I tend to do and say foolish things when I’m angry or upset. God help me

“People with understanding control their anger; a hot temper shows great foolishness”.(Pro14:29 NLT)

Hmm…. Guess when you understand the people you are dealing with, you won’t get irritated by their actions as you’ve come to understand why they do what they do. Doesn’t mean it won’t hurt, it just means you get to a point where their actions don’t provoke a bad response from you.

The latter part says hot temper shows foolishness. Oh! how many times I’ve fallen into this trap. I’ve acted out of anger and at the end made a fool of myself.

“A gentle response defuses anger, but a sharp tongue kindles a temper-fire”.(Pro.15.1.msg)

“Kind words heal and help; cutting words wound and maim”. (Pro.15:4 MSG)

“Hot tempers start fights; a calm, cool spirit keeps the peace”. (Pro.15:18 MSG)

Our response to a situation in terms of words can determine the outcome. It can either end on a pleasant note or even add more fuel to the fire already burning.

As ambassadors of Christ our words ought to reflect him. From our speech people should be able to tell if we are in God’s camp or not. Can they see Jesus in our speech?

No wonder king David wrote psalms like:

“Set a guard, O Lord , over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips!”(Psa.141.3.ESV)

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight”. (Psa.19.14.ESV)

It’s a daily challenge to constantly remind myself of restraining my lips and asking God to fill me with His love so that my words are filled with love and not condemnation. And even when I’m right, I hope not to gloat about my position but lovingly correct others and walk away from arguments; and stop thinking I have to have the last word!!

Thanks for joining today. Pls feel free to share your thoughts on the chapter.

Have a blessed evening 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

