Proverbs 12 – Words again…

Good evening y’all.  Today we are studying proverbs 12.

This chapter has a few things to say about our words we speak. I guess I’m focusing on words because that’s one area I have been asking God for help. I struggle with my mouth especially because I’m soneone who really loves and enjoys talking. It’s my biggest asset and sometimes becomes my biggest curse.

I have picked some of the verses that talk about ‘the words we say’ in todays chapter.

Be blessed 🙂
image

“The words of the wicked are like a murderous ambush, but the words of the godly save lives”.(Proverbs 12:6 NLT)

“The words of the wicked kill; the speech of the upright saves”.(Proverbs 12:6 MSG)

The words of wicked kill….that’s powerful. Do our words kill people or save them? With our words we can either make or break someone else. Our words should be inspired out of love and not hatred.

“The wicked are trapped by their own words, but the godly escape such trouble. Wise words bring many benefits, and hard work brings rewards”.(Proverbs 12 : 13 -14 NLT)

“The gossip of bad people gets them in trouble; the conversation of good people keeps them out of it. Well-spoken words bring satisfaction; well-done work has its own reward”.(Proverbs 12 : 13 -14 MSG)

This verse is so true. When we run our mouths or gossip about others, we end up in trouble. This proverb says wise words get us out of trouble. All of the anger and offence most times, could have been avoided if only the right words had been spoken in the first place. I always feel good on days I manage to shut my mouth and restrain myself from gossiping or saying too much with the help of God 🙂

“A fool is quick-tempered, but a wise person stays calm when insulted”. (Proverbs 12: 16 NLT)

“Fools have short fuses and explode all too quickly; the prudent quietly shrug off insults”.(Proverbs 12: 16 MSG)

I’m covering my eyes….so many times I’ve acted the fool. Exploded in anger and given someone a piece of my mind… Now I’m learning that a wise person stays calm. Oh I want to be wise and learn to shrug off insults…

“Rash language cuts and maims, but there is healing in the words of the wise”.(Proverbs 12: 18 MSG)

How many times have we spoken rashly.. this verse says rash words cuts and maims and that’s exactly what happens. But there is healing in the word of the wise. So many people out there are hurting and broken because of what someone has said to them. These people are looking for someone to say something otherwise and offer healing, and as children of God that’s what we are meant to do. Our words should offer healing. Should mend what has been broken and not further maim. The message of Jesus is a message of hope and healing. Let’s make sure as His ambassadors, that our words reflect the hope and healing Jesus has to offer the world.

I pray we all learn to use our mouth wisely and our words will offer healing to those who hear it.

Thanks for joining today. Pls feel free to share your thoughts

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

