Proverbs 10 – Keep your mouth shut!

Hello y’all. Today we are studying chapter 10 of Proverbs.

Be blessed 🙂

There is so much to learn from this chapter, but i’m going to focus on verse 19.

image

“In the multitude of words sin is not lacking, But he who restrains his lips is wise”. (NKJV)

If we talk too much, we are bound to say something we shouldn’t say and that can lead to offence or anger.

I’ve noticed this is true in my personal life. When I talk too much, I end up saying things I shouldn’t say and someone gets offended or upset in the process. So I’ve been talking to God about my mouth and I’m starting to learn to keep quiet, talk less and listen more. It hasn’t been easy especially as I’m someone who likes to talk a lot…. there are good days and bad days, but I’m definately getting better.

The latter part of verse 19 says ”He who restrains his lips is wise”. The NLT version says “Be sensible and keep your mouth shut“.

We need to learn to shut our mouths. Learn to restrain when we talk and what comes out of our mouth. James 3 tells us our tongue can do great damage. It can set a house on fire.

“A bit in the mouth of a horse controls the whole horse. A small rudder on a huge ship in the hands of a skilled captain sets a course in the face of the strongest winds. A word out of your mouth may seem of no account, but it can accomplish nearly anything—or destroy it! It only takes a spark, remember, to set off a forest fire. A careless or wrongly placed word out of your mouth can do that. By our speech we can ruin the world, turn harmony to chaos, throw mud on a reputation, send the whole world up in smoke and go up in smoke with it, smoke right from the pit of hell”. (James 3: 3-6 MSG)

No wonder David prayed in Psalm 141 for God to take control of what he says and  put a watch over His mouth.

Take control of what I say, O  lord , and guard my lips. Don’t let me drift toward evil or take part in acts of wickedness. Don’t let me share in the delicacies of those who do wrong”. (Psalms 141: 3-4 NLT)

I think we ought to make this psalm our prayer every day.

I pray our words will always be seasoned with salt. It will always build up and not tear down. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Thanks for joining today. Feel free to share your thoughts on the chapter.

Have a great weekend 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

