Proverbs 7 – Run! Run!! Run!!!

Good evening y’all. Today we are studying chapter 7 of the book of Proverbs.

I’m blogging through the book of proverbs with Good morning girls. Check us out at www.goodmorninggirls.org

Be blessed 🙂

image

Verse 2
“Obey my commands and live! Guard my instructions as you guard your own eyes”. (NLT)

This verse caught my attention. It says we should guard Gods word as we would our own eyes. Our eyes are needed so we can see where we are going and don’t stumble – needed for guidance. Gods word is our spiritual eyes. It guides us along the best path for our lives. Without God’s word we are spiritually blind. If we spend a lot  protecting our physical eyes, then how much more our spiritual eyes.

Let’s invest in Gods word. Store it up and meditate on it till it becomes a part of us.

Verse 6 – 27
“While I was at the window of my house, looking through the curtain, I saw some naive young men, and one in particular who lacked common sense. He was crossing the street near the house of an immoral woman, strolling down the path by her house. It was at twilight, in the evening, as deep darkness fell. The woman approached him, seductively dressed and sly of heart. She was the brash, rebellious type, never content to stay at home. She is often in the streets and markets, soliciting at every corner. She threw her arms around him and kissed him, and with a brazen look she said, “I’ve just made my peace offerings and fulfilled my vows. You’re the one I was looking for! I came out to find you, and here you are! My bed is spread with beautiful blankets, with colored sheets of Egyptian linen. I’ve perfumed my bed with myrrh, aloes, and cinnamon. Come, let’s drink our fill of love until morning. Let’s enjoy each other’s caresses, for my husband is not home. He’s away on a long trip. He has taken a wallet full of money with him and won’t return until later this month. ” So she seduced him with her pretty speech and enticed him with her flattery. He followed her at once, like an ox going to the slaughter. He was like a stag caught in a trap, awaiting the arrow that would pierce its heart. He was like a bird flying into a snare, little knowing it would cost him his life”. (6 – 23 NLT)

“So, friends, listen to me, take these words of mine most seriously. Don’t fool around with a woman like that; don’t even stroll through her neighborhood. Countless victims come under her spell; she’s the death of many a poor man. She runs a halfway house to hell, fits you out with a shroud and a coffin”.(24 – 27 MSG)

You can’t stroll along sins house and expect not to branch in. You shouldn’t be strolling in the first place. When you come across sin, you RUUUNNNN for your life. You can’t play with fire and expect not to get burnt. In those verses as the man strolled by, sin approached by and enticed him and he fell into the trap.

How many of us stroll daily along sins path and eventually get enticed and fall for it? I know I do sometimes. I will give an example to drive home my point. I’m trying to be healthy, so I’m watching what I eat. Now I know there are few aisles in the grocery store I ought to avoid but I tell myself I will walk past, I won’t stop even though there are other ways to get to my healthy food section. So here I am, pushing my trolley, walking past those aisles and all of a sudden I look and I see my favourite desert is on sale for less than half price. So the battle begins….my mind tells me walk away we are eating healthy but my flesh starts to remind me of the taste of the desert and at this point, I am caught between two world’s. Eventually my flesh wins and I console myself by saying – ‘oh well it’s a one off’…. ‘I’ll work it out’ or  ‘I’ll skip a meal’. Now I could have avoided this dilemna had i taken another route to my healthy section.

What I am trying to say here is that, toiling or playing with sin is a dangerous game. Let’s learn to run away as far as we can with the help of the Holy Spirit from sin. I think about the story of Joseph in Genesis. Had he stayed a lil longer and tried to rationsalise potiphars wifes offer, he would have missed it completely but thank God he RAN for his life. Yes he ended up in jail for running but the reward at the end was far greater than the few mins of pleasure he would have had with Potiphars wife, that probably would have cost him is life.

Hebrews 12 : 16 -17 says:

“Watch out for the Esau syndrome: trading away God’s lifelong gift in order to satisfy a short-term appetite. You well know how Esau later regretted that impulsive act and wanted God’s blessing—but by then it was too late, tears or no tears”.(MSG)

Don’t stroll through sins neighborhood.  The cost for strolling is too high. Sin would take you where you didn’t intend to go, keep you longer than you planned to stay and cost you more than you wanted to pay for it.

RUN! RUN!! RUN!!!

Thanks for joining today. Pls feel free to share your thoughts on the chapter.

Have a blessed evening 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

