Leviticus 22 – Acceptable offering

Good evening y’all. Today we are looking at Leviticus 22.

Be blessed šŸ™‚

image

As I read through the chapter, I ask myself: Is my offering to God perfect? Is it without defect? Offering not necessarily in monetary terms but more along the lines of my service to God. As someone who is actively involved at church, I am asking myself if I give God the perfect service or does my service have defects in them? Is my service contaminated by self glory and pride or am I doing it truly for the praise of God’s name?

God clearly stated in verse 21 that for a offering to be accepted it must be perfect and no defect found in it.

“And when anyone offers a sacrifice of peace offerings to the Lord to fulfill a vow or as a freewill offering from the herd or from the flock, to be accepted it must be perfect; there shall be no blemish in it”. (Leviticus 22:21 ESV)

I know that of my own accord I cannot give God a perfect offering. Flesh will always look for a way to creep in. So as I read, I do not condemn myself but rather I see my deep need for God’s help, if I am to attain to this level of perfection God desires. I need to work closely with the Holy spirit and allow do His work in me.

Phillipians 2:13 says
“for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure”. (ESV)

Another thing I noticed was that the offering had to be a free will one. God won’t force us to serve him. The choice is ours. But if we do decide to serve, then we must be ready to make sure we give Him the best of us. God won’t accept our left overs. He wants to be our top priority and not an afterthought.

Verses 31 – 33 urges us to faithfully keep God’s command and not bring shame to His name. He is the one who makes us Holy.

“So shall you heartily accept My commandments and conform your life and conduct to them. I am the Lord. Neither shall you profane My holy name [applying it to an idol, or treating it with irreverence or contempt or as a byword]; but I will be hallowed among the Israelites. I am the Lord, Who consecrates and makes you holy, Who brought you out of the land of Egypt to be your God. I am the Lord”. (Leviticus 22:31-33 AMP)

Prayer:
Father thank you for opening our eyes to see our need for you. We can’t attain this level of perfection on our own, so we surrender to Your Spirit and we ask for the grace to obey You and bring to You worship and services that are acceptable in your sight.  Thank you Lord. In Jesus Name we prayed. Amen

Thanks for joining.

I am blogging through the bible with Good morning girls. Check us out at www.goodmorninggirls.org

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

