Leviticus 20 – Set apart for God

Good afternoon y’all. Today we are studying Leviticus chapter 20.

This chapter speaks for itself. It calls for us to look inward and ask ourselves certain questions such as : have I been living holy? Am I set apart for God? Do I do what He tells me or am I set on doing and living my life on my own terms?

Verses 7-8, 22-24 and 26 were the key verses for me today.

It clearly reminds us that we are Kingdom children and can’t live our lives any how. We have been called to holiness. Gods standard won’t change. He paid a great price for us.

image

“Set yourselves apart for a holy life. Live a holy life, because I am God , your God. Do what I tell you; live the way I tell you. I am the God who makes you holy. (Leviticus 20:7-8 MSG)

“You must keep all my decrees and regulations by putting them into practice; otherwise the land to which I am bringing you as your new home will vomit you out. Do not live according to the customs of the people I am driving out before you. It is because they do these shameful things that I detest them. But I have promised you, ‘You will possess their land because I will give it to you as your possession—a land flowing with milk and honey.’ I am the lord your God, who has set you apart from all other people”. (Leviticus 20:22-24 NLT)

“Live holy lives before me because I, God , am holy. I have distinguished you from the nations to be my very own”. (Leviticus 20:26 MSG)

Let’s examine ourselves in the light of God’s word to us today. Paul tells us in 2 Corinthians 13: 5 to examine ourselves every now and then.

“Test yourselves to make sure you are solid in the faith. Don’t drift along taking everything for granted. Give yourselves regular checkups. You need firsthand evidence, not mere hearsay, that Jesus Christ is in you”. (2 Corinthians 13:5 MSG)

As we examine ourselves, let’s get rid of those things that contaminate us and let’s pursue holiness without which no man can see God.

Hebrews 12:1 tells us to lay aside every weight and the sin which so easily ensnares us.

1 Peter 1:14-16 says :

“So you must live as God’s obedient children. Don’t slip back into your old ways of living to satisfy your own desires. You didn’t know any better then. But now you must be holy in everything you do, just as God who chose you is holy. For the Scriptures say, “You must be holy because I am holy.” (NLT)

Prayer:
Dear Lord we thank you for today. Thank you for choosing us to be your own. Search us O God and know our heaet; test our thoughts. Point out anything you find in us that makes you sad, and lead us along the path fo everlasting life. Thank you Lord. In Jesus Name we prayed. Amen

I’m blogging through the bible with Good morning girls. Check us out at www.goodmorninggirls.org

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

