Leviticus 19 – Holiness and Obedience

Good afternoon y’all. Apologies didn’t get a chance to post the blog for yesterday 14th May 2015. Here it is 🙂

The chapter we are studying is Leviticus 19.

Be blessed 🙂

image

“Give the following instructions to the entire community of Israel. You must be holy because I, the Lord your God, am holy”.(Leviticus 19:2 NLT)

“You must obey all my decrees”. (Leviticus 19:19 NLT)

“You must be careful to keep all of my decrees and regulations by putting them into practice. I am the lord .” (Leviticus 19:37 NLT)

God started the chapter with ‘you must be holy because I the Lord your God, am holy’ and He ended it with, ‘obey all my decrees, I am the Lord’.

First thing that occurred to me is that, God demands holiness from us because that is who He is. If we are His children then we are to be like Him.

Secondly, obedience is linked to holiness. Disobedience is a sin and we know sin makes us unholy thereby leading to separation between us and God.

We are reconciled back to Him when we confess our sins and repent from our evil ways. The blood of Jesus cleanses us completely. 1 John 1:9 says:
“But if we confess our sins to him, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness”. (NLT)

I noticed God stressed the fact that we have to obey all and not some of His decrees. This makes me believe that partial obedience is as good as disobedience. It’s either you obey or not. There is no ‘in-between’ and we can’t pick and choose what we want to obey. 1 Samuel 15:22 tells us obedience is better than sacrifice.

I read through all the commands God gave them and I tried to view it in light of my own life. I would love to say, oh yeah I ticked all the boxes but that would just make me a big fat liar. I failed woefully.

The truth is in our own strength we can’t fully obey God’s commands. In fact it’s absolutely impossible. Paul in Romans 7: 18 -19 says
“And I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. I want to do what is right, but I can’t. I want to do what is good, but I don’t. I don’t want to do what is wrong, but I do it anyway”. (Romans 7:18-19 NLT)

We need the Holy Spirit to help us obey His commands.  Gal 5:16 says “If you are guided by the Spirit, you won’t obey your selfish desires”. (Galatians 5:16 CEVUS06)

Let’s ask God to help us revere Him as the holy God He is and give us the grace to walk in obedience with Him.

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

