Matthew 11 – The Unforced Rhythms of Grace

Good evening y’all. Today we are looking at Matthew 11.

I am focusing todays blog on verses 28-30.

Be blessed 🙂

“If you are tired from carrying heavy burdens, come to me and I will give you rest.  Take the yoke I give you. Put it on your shoulders and learn from me. I am gentle and humble, and you will find rest. This yoke is easy to bear, and this burden is light”. (Matthew 11:28-30 CEVUS06)

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (Matthew11:28 – 30 MSG)

Jesus is inviting us to share in His rest. According to google, rest is defined as “cease work or movement in order to relax, sleep, or recover strength”.

Some of us are so busy; tired and worn out that we can’t even sleep at night. Our brain is in overdrive that it can’t shut down even though we are tired and want to sleep. Jesus is offering us rest that will allow us relax, sleep and recover strength.

To enjoy this rest, we need to spend time with God alone. This reminds me of an apprentice and the master. The apprentice shadows the master; watches everything the master does. He learns the art of the trade. That was the picture I got as I read these verses. The apprentice can’t learn the trade from a distance he/she has to be in close fellowship with the master

It’s the same with us and God. This invitation He has given, we can’t enter or enjoy the rest from a distance. We have to be in close fellowship with Him.

The message version uses words such as “Get away with me”; “walk and work with me”; “keep company with me”. All these statements suggests to me that spending time and having a relationship with God is important.  We have to create time to get away with God; to study His word. That’s the only way we can get refreshed and recover our lives from the hustle and bustle around us.

Even God and Jesus rested from their busy schedule. God rested on the 7th day.

“On the seventh day God had finished his work of creation, so he rested from all his work”. (Genesis 2:2 NLT)

Jesus usually retreated to a solitary place to rest and recuperate from the days work.

“But Jesus often withdrew to the wilderness for prayer”. (Luke 5:16 NLT)

He understood the need to get refreshed from His source – God. He knew there was a lot of work to be done and He couldn’t afford to burn out.

Let’s  learn from Jesus. It’s very important and crucial that we also find time for solitude. A place where we can meet with God with no distractions whatsoever. It’s in those quiet moments that God reveals his plans to us and fills us with His peace.

The rest is available to everyone and it’s free. Just come as you are. You don’t need to pretend or hide under a facade. Just come and lay it all down. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. Take Jesus up on His offer and let Him lead you by the hand into His rest.

Prayer:

Dear Lord, we thank you for today. Thank You for reminding us that Your rest is available to us. Help us to let go and let You take control of those situation that wear us out. Help us to learn the unforced rhythms of grace and lead us into Your rest. Thank You dear Lord. In Jesus’ Name we pray.  Amen.

Thank you for joining today.

Have a blessed evening 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

