Matthew 2 – The Guiding Star

Good afternoon y’all. Today we are looking at Matthew Chapter 2.

Be blessed 🙂

Verses 1 – 12
The star shone and alerted the wise men to the birth of Jesus. The same star guided them to the place where Jesus was. This reminds me of Exodus where God guided his people to the promised land as a cloud by day and pillar of fire by night.

We are never alone. God is always with us guiding us along the right path to go. The question is, are we ready to submit to Him and let Him guide us or are we contented with trying in our own strength? God is omniscient, omnipresent and omnipotent. He is the Beginning and the End. He knows everything. Why not allow a God who knows everything and has already seen tomorrow to guide you? He will never lead us astray: that’s His promise.

Psalm 32:8 says: “The Lord says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life.I will advise you and watch over you”. (NLT)

God warned the wise men not to return to Herod and they obeyed him. They could have been scared of disobeying the king but the wise men chose to obey God instead and not return to the king.  Who are we obeying – Man or God ?

Verses 13 – 23
God sent an angel to speak to Joseph in a dream. God was protecting them from Herod. God is always a step ahead of the enemy. He will protect his own. He won’t leave us to fall prey to the enemy. Joseph and Mary obeyed the angel and left for Egypt. They stayed till Herod died and when it was time to come back, God appeared in a dream and told them to return and where to go.

God is the best place for safety. Psalm 27: 1- 6 says:

”The Lord is my light and my salvation; he protects me from danger—whom shall I fear? When evil men come to destroy me, they will stumble and fall! Yes, though a mighty army marches against me, my heart shall know no fear! I am confident that God will save me. The one thing I want from God, the thing I seek most of all, is the privilege of meditating in his Temple, living in his presence every day of my life, delighting in his incomparable perfections and glory. There I’ll be when troubles come. He will hide me. He will set me on a high rock out of reach of all my enemies. Then I will bring him sacrifices and sing his praises with much joy”. (TLB)

I also noticed that a lot of fulfillment came to pass in this chapter. This just shows that God is a promise-keeping God. He never goes back on His word. His word can be trusted. Not one of His word will return to him void. His word will always accomplish that which it has been sent to do. It might tarry but it will surely come to pass. Be encouraged and hold on to what God has told you. The circumstances might not tally with it, but be rest assured that God who has said it is able to bring it to pass. He cannot deny Himself.

Jeremiah 1: 12  says: “Then the LORD said to me, “You have seen well, for I am watching over my word to perform it.” (ESV)

Isaiah 55: 11 says: “So shall My word be that goes forth out of My mouth: it shall not return to Me void [without producing any effect, useless], but it shall accomplish that which I please and purpose, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it”. (AMP)

Be encouraged today. God is able to guide and protect us. He watches over His word to make sure they are fulfilled in our lives.

Prayer:
Dear Lord we thank you for today. Thank you for your love towards us. Thank you for sending Jesus to come and save us. Today, we ask for the grace to trust You to guide and protect us. Even when trouble comes, help us to remain confident in you and know that all You have promised will surely come to pass. In Jesus’ Name we have prayed. Amen.

Thanks for joining today.

Have a blessed day basking in God’s grace and goodness 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

