Exodus 33 – Show me your Glory…

Good evening y’all. Happy Mid Week 🙂 Today we are looking at Exodus 33.

One thing I realized as I was reading this chapter is that, we can get close to God as much as we want. He has given an open invitation. The choice is ours. When we seek Him in all sincerity of heart, humility and honesty, we will surely find Him

Moses approached God in humility and sincerity of heart. I particularly love his statement in verse 13 where he said, ‘… if you are pleased with me teach me your ways…’

“If you are pleased with me, teach me your ways so I may know you and continue to find favor with you. Remember that this nation is your people.”(Exodus 33:13 NIV)

Moses wanted more of God. He wasn’t content with what he had seen and experienced of God. He wanted to know more. He was sincere in his pursuit of God. How hungry are we for God? Are we content with the little we’ve seen of God or do we desire to know him on a face to face level like Abraham, Moses and Jacob did? One thing I know is God won’t hide Himself from us if we truly desire to know Him more. He will come and reveal himself to us.

Jeremiah 29: 13 says “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart”(NIV)

Deuteronomy 4:29 says “but if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find him if you seek Him with all your heart and with all your soul(NIV)

Moses wasn’t willing to go if God wasn’t going to be with him. It was God or nothing at all. He wanted God’s presence. He understood that as long as they had God’s presence with them, everything will be fine. He wanted to know Gods plan. His desire was to please God. He wasn’t willing to do anything or take any step outside of God’s will. He wasn’t content with leading the people in his own knowledge, rather he depended on God.

“Then Moses said to him, “If your Presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here. 16 How will anyone know that you are pleased with me and with your people unless you go with us? What else will distinguish me and your people from all the other people on the face of the earth?”(Exodus 33: 15-16 NIV)

Are we moving without God? We need His presence to guide and direct us in all we do. That’s why the book of Proverbs says we should trust God and not lean on our understanding as He knows everything. He knows the beginning from the end. He already knows what lies ahead of us. I once heard someone say “our future is God’s past”.

“With all your heart
you must trust the Lord
    and not your own judgment.
Always let him lead you,
    and he will clear the road
    for you to follow”.                                
            (Proverbs 3:5-6 CEV)

Moses asked to see God in all of His glory and God answered him.

image

“Then Moses said, “I pray that you will let me see you in all of your glory.” The Lord answered: All right. I am the Lord, and I show mercy and kindness to anyone I choose. I will let you see my glory and hear my holy name, but I won’t let you see my face, because anyone who sees my face will die.There is a rock not far from me. Stand beside it, and before I pass by in all of my shining glory, I will put you in a large crack in the rock. I will cover your eyes with my hand until I have passed by. Then I will take my hand away, and you will see my back. You will not see my face”.(Exodus 33:18 -23 CEV)

Isn’t it amazing the kind of conversation God and Moses had? I am tempted to say I’m jealous of their relationship. But the truth is, are we willing to pay the price to get that close to God? Are we ready to give up all the things that are not pleasing to Him in order to truly see and encounter Him or are we content with what we think we know of Him?

Moses’ goal was to seek God and do his bidding. He really wanted to be pleasing to God. We should also ensure that pleasing and doing God’s bidding is our ultimate desire: it should be the reason for which we are living

I pray we all desire to know and experience God on a personal level like Moses did. Amen

Thanks for joining today.

Have a blessed evening 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

