Psalms 19

Good morning y’all. Today we are looking at Psalms 19.

Be blessed 🙂

Creation speaks of God’s Majesty and His wonders. Verse 1-4 tells of how the heavens declare His glory and the skies declare what He has done. Even though they don’t talk, but yet through them we see God’s glory and beauty.

“The heavens keep telling the wonders of God, and the skies declare what he has done.  Each day informs the following day; each night announces to the next.  They don’t speak a word, and there is never the sound of a voice. Yet their message reaches all the earth, and it travels around the world. In the heavens a tent is set up for the sun” (Psalms 19:1-4 CEVUS06)

How great is our God! I am reminded of the lyrics of the famous hymn; Oh Lord my God –

“O Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder
consider all the works thy hand hath made,
I see the stars, I hear the mighty thunder,
thy power throughout the universe displayed:

Then sings my soul, my Saviour God; to thee,
How great thou art, how great thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Saviour God; to thee,
How great thou art, how great thou art!”

David goes on to tell us about the beauty of God’s word in verse 7 – 10.

“The Law of the Lord is perfect; it gives us new life. His teachings last forever, and they give wisdom to ordinary people.  The Lord’s instruction is right; it makes our hearts glad. His commands shine brightly, and they give us light.  Worshiping the Lord is sacred; he will always be worshiped. All his decisions are correct and fair.  They are worth more than the finest gold and are sweeter than honey from a honeycomb” (Psalms 19:7-10 CEVUS06)

Friends, We should desire God’s word above very other else. We should seek it more than Gold. It’s in reading and studying Gods word that we get to know Him better and understand what His will is.

In the last 3 verses of this psalm, we see a man that understands the damage sin can do to ones life, if one doesn’t pay attention. David knew that of his own might, he couldn’t win the battle against his flesh. The battle can only be won with the help of God. Hence his request to God to keep him from sinning deliberately and to be pleasing to him both in words and thoughts.

“None of us know our faults. Forgive me when I sin without knowing it. Don’t let me do wrong on purpose, Lord, or let sin have control over my life. Then I will be innocent, and not guilty of some terrible fault. Let my words and my thoughts be pleasing to you, Lord, because you are my mighty rock and my protector” (Psalms 19:12-14 CEVUS06)

Friends are you struggling today with a particular sin. You”ve made promises to God that you won’t do them, yet you keep going back to it. Don’t beat urself up, you are not alone. David here too struggled and He knew to run to God and not away from him. He cried out to God to help him from sinning purposefully.

I believe we need to do the same. We need to surrender our weaknesses to God and stop trying to overcome them in our strength. Romans 8:12-13 says: “My dear friends, we must not live to satisfy our desires. If you do, you will die. But you will live, if by the help of God’s Spirit you say “No” to your desires” (CEVUS06). Let’s turn to him for help today.

Prayer:
Dear Lord we thank you for today. We praise your Holy name. Thank you for forgiving our sins and giving us a new start. Lord, may the words of our mouth and the meditations of our hearts be acceptable in your sight oh Lord. Pls keep us from sinning on purpose and don’t let sin have control over our lives. Thank you Lord. In Jesus Name. Amen

Thank you for joining today. Pls feel free to share your thoughts on the chapter.

Have a blessed day 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

