Psalms 18

Good morning y’all. Happy Monday :). Today, we looking at Psalms 18.

I am reading the psalm from the Contemporary English Version.

Be blessed šŸ™‚

There are 4 main points I want to bring out from the psalm.

1) God is our only true source of safety and protection. He is the go to person when things are good and when they are bad. Man can only do so  much for us, but God, has unlimited power and resource. He can never fail. David understood this very well hence his statement in verse 1 and 2; “I love you, Lord God, and you make me strong. You are my mighty rock, my fortress, my protector, the rock where I am safe, my shield, my powerful weapon, and my place of shelter”.

2) When we pray to God, we can be sure He hears us. Verse 6 says: “I was in terrible trouble when I called out to you but from your holy temple you heard me and answered my prayer”. David was in distress and He called to God and He answered him.

Who do you turn to in your time of distress and troubles? Friends, let’s turn to God. He is the only one who can truly help us. The strength of man will fail us but the strength of God will give us victory.

Sometimes, we don’t pray, because we are not sure God will answer us. Let me encourage you with the scriptures below …
“And we are confident that he hears us whenever we ask for anything that pleases him. And since we know he hears us when we make our requests, we also know that he will give us what we ask for”(1 John 5:14-15 NLT).

“You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father.  Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!” (John 14:13-14 NLT)

“In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me”. (Jeremiah 29:12-13 NLT)

Friends, Whatever it is, let’s take it to the Lord in prayer today.

3) Sin / disobedience will hinder our prayers from being heard and answered.
Psalm 66:18 says: “If I regard iniquity in my heart, The Lord will not hear” (NKJV). Sin makes us ashamed and unworthy to come before God, hence when we come before him, we are not free to ask because we know we haven’t done the things He asked of us. The guilt and condemnation from disobedience makes us want to run or hide from God like Adam did after he ate of the forbidden fruit.

David could confidently call on God for help because he knew he had been obedient to God and done the things God expected of him. Verse 20 to 24 says:
“You are good to me, Lord, because I do right, and you reward me because I am innocent.  I do what you want and never turn to do evil. I keep your laws in mind and never look away from your teachings.  I obey you completely and guard against sin.  You have been good to me because I do right; you have rewarded me for being innocent by your standards” (Psalms 18:20-24 CEVUS06).

Today lets make a decision to be obedient to God and guard against sin in our lives. I once heard a pastor say this about sin.

“When you allow sin to find room in your life, you are simply making room for destiny losses. Sin is an open invitation to reproach, and an express approval for destruction”.

4) We need to be thankful and grateful. David was very good at thanking and praising God for the things He had done for him and for the things He was going to do. In this psalm, we see him praise and thank God for answering him.
“You are the living Lord! I will praise you. You are a mighty rock. I will honor you for keeping me safe”.
“I will praise you, Lord, and I will honor you among the nations” (Psalms 18:46, 49 CEVUS06).

Some of us behave like ingrates. When we want something from God we are so desperate and will do anything for it but once God answers us we forget to go back and thank him. We are like the ten lepers that got healed and only one came back to thank God.

Friends,  let’s cultivate the habit of thanksgiving and praising God at all times. 1 Thessalonians 5:18 says: “In everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (NKJV)

Prayer
Dear Lord thank you for today. Today, we ask for grace to always turn to you for help. Help us not to rely on our own strength or that of man. Help us be obedient and guard against sin in our lives. Help us learn to be thankful and grateful, whether in the good or bad times. Thank you Lord.  In Jesus Name. Amen.

Thanks for joining today.

Have a blessed day.

***With God all things are possible***

Leave a Reply

