Psalms 17

Good Morning y’all. Today we looking at Psalm 17. In this psalm we see David introduce God to us as our defender, judge and advocate. The one who proves us innocent.

I am reading from Contemporary English Version. Be blessed 🙂

Psalms 17:1-2 : I am innocent, Lord! Won’t you listen as I pray and beg for help? I am honest! Please hear my prayer.  Only you can say that I am innocent, because only your eyes can see the truth.

Verse 1 and 2 suggests that David was being accused of something he believed he didn’t do and rather than take matters into his own hands, he turned to his God. He asked for help and for him to prove his innocence.

As we discussed yesterday in Psalms 16, God is all we need. He is the I AM that I AM (Exodus 3:14). That is, He will be to us whatever we need Him to be. David, at this point needed God to be his defender, judge and advocate.

Whatever the situation you find yourself today, I want to remind you that God is still the I AM that I AM. Tell him what you need Him to be and He will surely hear and answer you. The battle is not yours, it’s the Lord’s, so give it over to him today.

Latter part of verse 2 says: “only your eyes can see the truth”. God is the only one who knows the truth. He searches the heart of men and nothing is hidden from him. Even if we get away with lying to others, we cant lie to God. God himself is the truth (John 14:6). Who better to have as our defender, judge and advocate than the TRUTH himself 🙂

I am going to jump to verse 6.

Psalms 17:6 : I pray to you, God, because you will help me. Listen and answer my prayer!

What caught my attention in this verse is the reason David gave for praying to God. He wasn’t doing it just for doing sake or to  earn brownie points with God. Nah, he was doing it, because he believed God would help him. He had faith in Gods ability to deliver and prove him innocent.

Friends, do you have faith in God to help you through your situation? Do you believe He can do all things including your request? It’s not enough to just pray. For your prayer to be effective, it needs to be backed up by faith. Hebrews 11:6 says: “And it is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to him must believe that God exists and that he rewards those who sincerely seek him” (NLT).

Get to exercising your faith today 🙂 and I believe God will show up on your behalf. Luke 1: 37 says: “Nothing is impossible for God!”(CEVUS06)

Prayer:
Dear Lord we thank you for today. We thank you for reminding us your the I AM that I AM; our defender; our Judge and Advocate. Help our faith Lord and give us grace to believe your word. We give our battles over to you and we pray you will fight for us. Thank you dear Lord. In Jesus Name. Amen

Thank you for joining today.

See you on Monday as we discuss Psalms 18.

Have a blessed day and weekend in advance 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

2 thoughts on “Psalms 17

  1. Hello and thanks for another sharing. May the Lord continue to bless and keep you, in Jesus’ Name.

    In this Psalm, my attention was brought to a few verses: 3, 8 and 14. However, I would like to add to what you said about God judging for us; and sometimes going before us to ensure that we do not follow cruel of evil people.

    If we recall from earlier Psalms, evil people had been defined as those who say to themselves, ‘there is no God’. Following that, I believe it would be a show of one’s arrogance to take judgement into one’s hands, as commonly displayed by evil/wicked people.

    But in saying this, we (the Believers) cannot deny that such thought of vengeance do not sometimes play around in our hearts. I dare say that they even manifest themselves, sometimes, in the proceedings we take in response something done to us.

    Take the example we’re given in David’s life from 1 Samuel 25. It’s the account regarding David, Nabal and Abigail. Nabal vexed David so much that he (David) rallied 400 of his men and swore to kill every man in Nabal’s household before day break. This was all due to the wicked way in which Nabal responded to David’s plea for some show of kind appreciation after protecting Nabal’s men and flock.

    Now this is where God stepped in to prevent His treasured one (re: Ps 17:14). God allowed Abigail to reach David in time (see 1 Sam 25: 18-26), thus satisfying two types of his hunger: one for food; and the other for vengeance. The Lord had vengeance upon Nabal himself (1 Sam 25:38) and prevented David from avenging himself (1 Sam 25: 32-33).

    So when I think of Psalm 17:8 (‘Guard me as You would guard Your own eyes. Hide me in the shadow of Your wings’), I am left in awe at the way the Lord orders our steps to guard us from wrong. This is especially after He has searched our thoughts. If we recall, David had initially approached Nabal with good intent, so that Ps 17: 3, was fulfilled (‘You have tested my thoughts and examined my heart in the night… NIV).

    There’s so much I would love to share 🙂 but I don’t want to turn this into a sermon. I pray the Lord expounds His word to meet us (individually and collectively) for our edification and His praise, in Jesus’ Name. Amen

    Like

Leave a Reply

