Genesis 10

Good morning y’all. Today we in chapter 10. This chapter lists the descendants of Noah. 

After reading the chapter over and over in different versions, with the help of the Holyspirit, I finally found the treasure hidden within 🙂 . Though the chapter is just a list of people and the tribes they belonged to, there was one who stood out from the list. His name is Nimrod.

In the KJV Version, it says Nimrod was a mighty hunter before the Lord
“And Cush begat Nimrod: he began to be a mighty one in the earth. He was a mighty hunter before the Lord: wherefore it is said, Even as Nimrod the mighty hunter before the Lord“. (‭Genesis‬ ‭10‬:‭8-9‬ KJV)

The NLT Version, says he was a heroic warrior, the greatest hunter in the world
Cush was also the ancestor of Nimrod, who was the first heroic warrior on earth. Since he was the greatest hunter in the world, his name became proverbial. People would say, “This man is like Nimrod, the greatest hunter in the world.” (‭Genesis‬ ‭10‬:‭8-9‬ NLT)

The GNB version, says he was a great hunter by the Lord’s help
Cush had a son named Nimrod, who became the world’s first great conqueror. By the Lord ‘s help he was a great hunter, and that is why people say, “May the Lord make you as great a hunter as Nimrod!” (‭Genesis‬ ‭10‬:‭8-9‬ GNB)

The CEVUS version says he was a mighty warrior whose strength came from the Lord
Cush was also the ancestor of Nimrod, a mighty warrior whose strength came from the Lord. This is why people say: “You hunt like Nimrod with the strength of the Lord!”  (‭Genesis‬ ‭10‬:‭8-9 CEVUS06)

I particularly like the CEVUS version as it brought things into perspective for me. It made me ask myself the question – in whose strength am I operating? Am I operating in my own strength, in the strength of man or in the strength of the Lord ?
I want you to ask yourself the same question.

The Truth is our strength can only take us so far before it fails. The free dictionary defines strength as
a. A source of power or force.
b. One that is regarded as the embodiment of protective or supportive power; a support or mainstay.

Based on this definition, pls indulge me to ask my question again. Who is the source of your power? In the day of trouble, who do you turn to for support or help. Is it man or God? Scripture says, vain is the help of man.
Give us help from trouble: for vain is the help of man. (‭Psalms‬ ‭108‬:‭12‬ KJV)

God is not happy when we turn to man instead of him, when we put our absolute trust in what man can do for us instead of what He can do. Jeremiah 17:5 says:
This is what the LORD says: “Cursed are those who put their trust in mere humans, who rely on human strength and turn their hearts away from the LORD. (‭Jeremiah‬ ‭17‬:‭5‬ NLT)

God is all powerful, all knowing, the source of it all. He is dependable, reliable, to his wisdom there is no end. Everything we need or want is found in God, it all consists within him. Isaiah 40: 28-31 puts it very well…
Have you never heard? Have you never understood? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth. He never grows weak or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding. He gives power to the weak and strength to the powerless. Even youths will become weak and tired, and young men will fall in exhaustion. But those who trust in the LORD will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭40‬:‭28-31‬ NLT)

Nimrods source of power was God and that’s why he was a mighty warrior. He was able to do far above what his peers were doing because he didn’t rely on his ability but rather on Gods ability within him.

Today lets re-evaluate our lives and ask God to be the source of our strength. Let’s ask for his help. We will find that things or tasks that we struggle with become easier because it’s no longer us doing it but God in us through his Holyspirit. He has promised in His word that He will strengthen and help us.

I’ll close with a few of my favourite scriptures on strength 🙂

Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭41‬:‭10‬ NLT)

God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble. (‭Psalms‬ ‭46‬:‭1‬ NLT)

Three times I did that, and then he told me, My grace is enough; it’s all you need. My strength comes into its own in your weakness. Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become. (‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭12‬:‭9 -10‬ MSG)

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. (‭Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭13‬ NLT)

Prayer:
Dear Lord we thank you for today. We thank you so much for your love towards us. We ask for your forgiveness for all the times we have tried to do things in our own strength. Today we humble ourselves and ask that you will be our strength, the source of our power and our ever present help in time of need. We love you Lord. In Jesus Name. Amen.

Thank you for joining today. Pls feel free to leave you thots on the chapter.

Go in the might and Strength of your God today. Remember, nothing is above you because you can do all things through Christ who strengthens you 🙂

***With God all things are possible***

One thought on “Genesis 10

  1. Pingback: GENESIS -THE STORY SO FAR… part 1 | BlogThruDaBible

Leave a Reply

